Who is required to attend the alcohol certification class?
If you work in a County with a population 100,000 or more, anyone who serves alcohol (Cocktail Servers, Bartenders, Food Servers, etc.) and anyone working as a Security Officer is required to attend the certification class.
If you work in a County with a population of 400,000 or more, anyone who sells alcohol (Grocery Store Cashiers, Convenience Store Clerks, etc.) is also required to attend the certification class.
Many businesses also require (as a condition of employment) certain job classifications attend the class. For example: several hotels on the Las Vegas Strip require Valet Parking Attendants attend the class.
AAT instructors have many years experience working in the hotel/casino industry, the Nevada Gaming Control Board, cocktail service, and retail liquor sales. AAT instructors have been conducting alcohol education classes in Nevada for over 15 years with the goal of making the mandatory class fun, informative, and affordable.
Nevada Revised Statute 369 requires that businesses in Nevada have their employees certified in alcohol awareness training. Companies that teach the course in Nevada must be approved and licensed by the Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education. The Alcohol Awareness Training card (AAT card – alcohol card), the TAM Card , and the AES card are all officially recognized as proof of successfully completing the training. The certification card is also sometimes referred to as the alcohol card, alcohol certification card, alcohol awareness card or alcohol drink card.
Do I have to be 21 to take the class?
No. You can be as young as 16 and take the class.
How much does the class cost?
If you take the online course, the cost is $15.00 (payable when you receive your certification card). After you complete the online course, you must go to an Alcohol Awareness Training location and take the final exam in the presence of a certified instructor. When you successfully complete the exam, you will be given your certification card.
If you take the Alcohol Awareness Training class in person with a certified instructor, the cost is $20.00. (Cash)
How long is the card good for?
The Alcohol Awareness Certification Card is valid for four (4) years from the date of issue.
If I’ve had the card before, can I just take a renewal class?
No. New state regulations require that every 4 years you must re-take the entire certification course.
What form of ID do I need to take the class?
You will need to show a valid form of identification (any state driver’s license, state or military ID, passport, alien registration card, etc.) before you can take the final exam.
What if I lose my card?
We can make a duplicate card. Please contact your local AAT office.